2 years on, The Rogue Couch remembers Kamo’s tribute to one of the 2010 FIFA World Cup’s biggest disappointments, the Qantas Socceroo’s.

“Vegemite Pie”

A long, long time ago…
I can still remember
How that Guus used to make me smile
And I knew if we had our chance

That the Roos could make those people dance
And, maybe, they’d be happy for a while

But June 24th made me shiver
With every paper they’d deliver
Bad news on the doorstep
I couldn’t take one more step

I can’t remember if I cried
When I watched our defeated side
But something touched me deep inside
The day the football died…

So bye-bye, Socceroos bye.
You couldn’t say it, but Verbeek
He was a pretty shit guy
Them good old boys were playing with their hearts on the line
Singin’, “this’ll be the day that I die.”
“this’ll be the day that I die.”

Did Swarz write the book of glove
And do you have faith in Tim above
If Harry tells you so?
Do you believe in an unlucky roll
Can football save your mortal soul
And can you teach me how to pass real slow?

Well, I know that you’re in love with them
`cause I saw you dancin’ in the gym
We all kicked off our shoes
Man, I dig those green & golden hues

I was a hopeful Socceroos fan
With jersey on and scarf in hand
It was the same all across our land
The day the football died

I started singing
Bye-bye, Socceroos bye
You couldn’t say it, but Verbeek
He was a pretty shit guy

Our good old boys were playing with their hearts on the line
Singin’, “this’ll be the day that I die.
“this’ll be the day that I die.”

[Note: this post originally appeared on 28-Jun-2010]

